RE: Yes Ma’am, It’s my first practice log Chris M 13.08.24 11:56
RE: Yes Ma’am, It’s my first practice log Sax Ma'am 14.08.24 10:43
RE: Yes Ma’am, It’s my first practice log Sax Ma'am 16.08.24 10:29
RE: Yes Ma’am, It’s my first practice log Sax Ma'am 30.08.24 12:21
RE: Yes Ma’am, It’s my first practice log Sax Ma'am 23.09.24 13:45
Sax Ma'am, geändert vor 2 Monaten at 09.07.24 09:58
Created 2 Monaten ago at 09.07.24 09:58

Yes Ma’am, It’s my first practice log

I've been reading and working with the content of The Mind Illuminated and I have a 15 day meditation streak.  Have been interested in this practice for a long time and have read MCTB more than once.  I'm definitely experienced at being a total beginner at meditation.  As regards TMI, I'm in stages 2-3 best I can tell.

The best meditation I've ever had was to focus on the closed-eye visual field and to let each inflection of the breath remind me to return to the meditation object, which I'll call the FOV for brevity (field of vision).

I wrestled with whether to change my practice to the breath as instructed in TMI.  But so far I haven't wanted to go backwards and learn to focus on a different object.

Reason for posting here:  any help interpreting what's happening would be appreciated.

----

That said, here's my notes on today's sit:

"this was good, I think. I was mostly engaged with meditation object (closed-eye visual field). My eye mask was askew and the asymmetrical pressure on my nose bothered me. there were rapid movements of attention (or is it awareness?) between that sensation and the FOV (field of vision). itches and twitches also provoked this storm of perception and rapid refocusing.  the biggest episode of mind wandering was forming a plan to ... do something?   hmmm.   sometimes both my mind and the visual field got peaceful, often on a big in-breath. I found myself smiling during the itching/twitching/tension/relaxing storms."