Where to find someone to provide feedback on ongoing meditation.

5 日前 に hershl hershl によって更新されました。 at 24/06/23 10:23
Created 5 日 ago at 24/06/23 10:23

Where to find someone to provide feedback on ongoing meditation.

投稿: 6 参加年月日: 22/06/26 最新の投稿
I have been doing Theravadin practice, off and on, for over 20 years.

For a long time this was mainly done at retreat centers. However, with the passage of time and the challenges of the body ( I am in my 70s), traveling and sitting as I once did, is less practical. Consequently, I sit mainly on my own and do noting while moving around.

I approached a man who once helped me with this but he no longer responds to my attempts to make contact.

How can I find someone who would be willing to give me feedback on my practice virtually?

I am located in Maryland, USA.

Also, and I want this to be clear, I have been led since I was in highschool in the sixties to the realm of Advaita Vedanta. I spent time in India with a student of Nisargadatta and also have virtually been speaking with Bob Adamson ( Sailor Bob) who is in Australia. He in turn spent time with Nisargadatta in the 70s and was opened to the reality of Presence Awareness and beyond.

​​​​​​​So my teacher would need to be aware of this aspect of my experience, as well.
5 日前 に Martin によって更新されました。 at 24/06/23 10:52
Created 5 日 ago at 24/06/23 10:52

RE: Where to find someone to provide feedback on ongoing meditation.

投稿: 889 参加年月日: 20/04/25 最新の投稿
Some questions that came up when I read your post are:

Are you looking for a meditation friend or a teacher?

If you are looking for a friend, what level of experience or expertise would you want them to have?

If you are looking for a teacher, are you looking for a teacher that you would pay (or give dana to)? Your practice has been focused on Advaita Vedanta, are you now looking to get feedback from someone in one of the Buddhist traditions and, if so, do you want that to be Therevadan or would any tradition do?