Asking for guidance after years of practice

1月前 に Isthmus T によって更新されました。 at 24/07/30 17:07
Created 1月 ago at 24/07/30 17:07

Asking for guidance after years of practice

投稿: 30 参加年月日: 24/07/30 最新の投稿
Hello,

This is my first post here.

I’ve been reading Dharma Overground for years, but I haven’t had the courage to post here before. English is not my native language, but I’m doing my best (and with the help of AI) to make myself understood. I’m a 48-year-old man. I’ve been practicing meditation for about 8 years. I started in 2016 after reading MCTB and failing to manage my mental issues otherwise. Initially, my motivation after reading the book was tremendous, so I had no trouble practicing regularly. I’ve been able to maintain consistent practice, missing only a few days over these years. My practice has mostly been one 45-minute to 1-hour session per day, although sometimes I’ve practiced more. I’ve also participated in five 7-11 days silent meditation retreats during these years. During the first 3 years of practice, I also attended psychotherapy twice a week.

In the initial years of practice, I focused on developing my ability to concentrate. I progressed reasonably well and can mostly maintain decent concentration and I think I can even experience soft jhanas. After about a year of practice, I believe I reached the A&P stage during my first retreat. That retreat was probably the most pleasant one I’ve attended. Subsequently, my personal life became very challenging and turbulent. It included illnesses, family breakdown, resulting financial difficulties, and a collapse in self-esteem. Meditation practice became extremely difficult, but I managed to keep up with it, even though it mostly felt like a waste of time. That time, I resumed therapy, and it’s still ongoing.