Jacob H Practice Log

Jacob Hermansen, modified 1 Month ago at 8/25/24 9:43 AM
Created 1 Month ago at 8/25/24 9:43 AM

Jacob H Practice Log

Hello all

The idea of this thread is to make a summary for myself of my journey until now, how my practice is going and the current obstacles. If anyone chimes in with thoughts, ideas, recommendations I will of course be very happy, but the logging is meaningful in itself, so its all okay. Ive been logging a bit for myself since january 2024, but not daily, and I dont know yet how often and how much I will log here.

A bit about my meditation journey until now
I've been meditating daily since start 2023 and have slowly increased the time spent. My general practice is now 60 min. in the morning and 15-30 min. in the evening. The first year of my practice was mostly inspired by Eckhart Tolles "The power of now" and some Zen litterature and guidelines, so it was very barebones and focusing mostly on just being present in practice and off the cushion - but also only short meditations max 20 min. This period of like the first 9 months of 2023 felt in many ways like the happiest ive ever been, i was so amazed by this new way of experiencing the world and thinking about "myself" and often felt like i had it all figured out. In January 2024 i came across the Deconstructing Yourself podcast and TMI by Culadasa and from there slowly evolved my practice in the sense that i thought more about where i was in my practice and where i was headed.